Is There Any Way to Increase Pageviews?
Curious about how to increase Pageviews? I can help you with that. But don’t think I will give you 101 other ways to make money online. Because it doesn’t work like that at all. Seriously!
If you already have a blog and are looking for ways to make money from your blog, here is a list of more than 40 Google AdSense alternatives to making money from blogging.
Over the last few months, I have tried to improve my content creation process – to make more blog posts per month consistently. However, I can’t do it and haven’t found a way that suits me.
But the good thing is, I ended up doing a lot of calculations. I love math. Not the things you and I learned in school – differentiation, integration, algebra, matrices, etc. But the one that is applied in real life.
In fact, that’s why I finally wrote this blog post.
So, today I just want to explain What It Takes to Increase Pageviews and Reach 1 Million Pageviews based on my calculations.
But the current calculation cannot always be applied in all areas of the website, this calculation is based on traffic insights of several case studies.
So, there is a possibility that every actual number that applies to your own blog can be very different from mine. Needless to say, this ultimately depends on your website’s niche, authority, and marketing efforts.
For example, the number of page views on a blog is very dependent on the bounce rate. Even a slight change in bounce rate is very significant in terms of page views.
My bounce rate is more than 85% and the number of pages per visit is 1.30 / visit. Now if I manage to reduce my bounce rate to say around 80% then the number of pages per visit will be around 1.50 / visit.
And that will easily increase pageviews by 15% in page visits (without creating additional content).
Make Money Blogging: I just want to decode four questions
- The amount of Traffic Your Blog Need To Make $36,000 Per Year In Ad Revenue
- How Many Blog Posts Do You Need To Generate A Million Pageviews Per Month
- When can I reach my Traffic Goal
How Much Traffic Does Your Blog Need To Generate $36,000 Million Per Year
If your goal is to become a full-time blogger or have started a blog to make blogging money. Then you need a clear vision in terms of income and traffic.
Let’s say your goal is to generate $36,000 per year in advertising revenue per year.
So, you need to find out how much traffic or visitors you need to achieve that goal. And the type of business (in terms of time, work, and investment) you have to do to achieve that goal.
This is not a silly goal even if you have no experience and have not made your first dollar online.
First, let’s just decode $36,000 into something more feasible.
- $36,000/year ~ $3,000/month
- $3,000/month ~ $692.31/week
- $692.31/week ~ $98.63/day
- $98.63/day ~ $4.11/hour
And if I were to count only working days and working hours. Then it comes to $18/hour (assuming 250 working days and 8 working hours). Just FYI.
Now let’s see how much traffic you need to generate 400 million / year in advertising revenue.
Once again, $36,000 / year translates to around $98.63/day and let’s round it to $100/day
And I only consider “advertising revenue” because this is a surefire way. (especially through Google AdSense) to make money from content-rich websites.
There are many other ways that you can try to make money from your blog. Just need some time to find the best for you and your blog.
For example, blogs that get a lot of traffic (say, more than 100,000 page views per month). Can monetize websites with CPC & CPM ads, personal banner ads and text links (it doesn’t interfere). Affiliate marketing, e-book sales, sponsored reviews, etc. – and that’s what most people do.
So, if indeed advertising is the best way to monetize your content. Then your income depends entirely upon your monthly pageviews and the CPM.
CPM (Cost Per Mille) stands for Cost Per 1,000 Impressions. A CPM is always represented in dollar terms. It tells you how much money you’re making from every 1,000 pageviews.(or rather ad impressions). If you are making $10 from 4,000 impressions then your CPM will be $2.50.
CPM actually depends on your traffic source, website, audience demographics, and ad placement.
If you are getting most of your traffic from the U.S. (and other English-speaking countries like Canada, U.K, Australia). You can probably make a CPM of $4 (using a combination of different ad networks).
It also means that you will need at least 25,000 page views to make $100. (assuming a CPM of $4) a day.
Do remember that, if you have a non-English website that’s getting most of its traffic outside the U.S. Then your CPM could be as low as $0.50 (if not less)
That was about monetization with ad networks. Now, what about private ads?
Well, income from personal advertising is somewhat more predictable. Instead of revenue from ad networks like Google AdSense. Because we can set the price / CPM yourself.
You can check BuySellAds.com to get some ideas about the types of ways to increase pageviews. Also, what is needed to reach your income goals.
In case you don’t know,
BuySellAds is one of the largest advertising markets that connects advertisers and publishers directly. So, if you are a publisher then you can set your own prices (based on ad units or CPM basis).
Because they have categorized all publisher websites. You can browse the sites that suit your market. So you can better assess the traffic needed to reach your income goals.
To give you a few perspectives, I’ll just explore a few BuySellAds lists (from various categories) for you
HomeBunch.com | Home & Architecture
HomeBunch.com gets around 500,000 page views per month and earns $ 1,200 from BuySellAds. Maybe $ 1,500 from Google AdSense (assuming a CPM of $ 3).
Bedroom Producers Blog | Technology
Bedroom Producers Blog is a tech blog. It’s also getting around 300,000 pageviews a month (same as The Labrador Site). As you can see it’s making $1750 from BuySellAds itself. And hopefully at least $600 from Google AdSense (assuming a CPM of just $2).
I have already mentioned that you will need to Increase 25,000 pageviews a day to generate $ 100.
(Assuming a combined CPM of $ 4 from all ad networks and personal advertisements that you have placed). That means you will need 750,000 pageviews to make $ 3,000 a month.
None of the websites above get more than 750,000-page visitors per month, but they make thousands of dollars a month. So, the idea is to display several websites that generate almost $ 3,000 a month in advertising revenue. Without generating 750,000 page views.
All of them monetize their websites with several ad networks. Plus they have to earn extra income through affiliates, sponsors, private banners & text link advertisements, etc. So, real income can be much higher or lower than the numbers I’ve mentioned here.
And there is one more thing.
CPM rates can vary significantly from website to website and industry to industry. For example, the CPM set by the technology blog above is $ 4.5. However, it’s as high as $ 14 for Windows Central (with more than 22 million page views). And as low as $ 3 for OS X Daily (with more than 4 million page views).
How Many Blog Posts Do You Need To Increase to A Million Pageviews Per Month?
Well, it really depends because there are no numbers or ways to increase magical Pageviews. I have cited several examples of how various niche blogs generate almost $ 3,000 / month without producing 750,000 page views per month.
Remember, page visitors = $$$. The more you make, the more money you will / can make.
The effort required to drive any website traffic clearly depends on the industry, authority, and marketing efforts.
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So, it is very likely that Website A generates a million Pageviews with less than 1,000 blog posts. While Website B generates a million Pageviews with more than 10,000 posts.
And if it’s a dynamic blog (like a news blog) then the number of pages needed will be far more than that because the pages will wear out quickly.
For example, the mega-popular technology blog TheNextWeb.com gets around 3 million pageviews (according to BuySellAds.com) and has around 150,000 pages indexed on Google.
Another technology blog, 9to5Google.com also gets around 3 million pageviews but has less than 50,000 pages indexed on Google.
The actual number of pages can be far less than that. Because Google indexes many archive pages and also user-generated content. Both websites are news blogs and they publish tons of posts every week/month.
Now I have also checked some blog statistics. How to improve Labnol.org Pageviews, and have seen that it gets more than 2 million pageviews. I also know that it gets less than 10,000 pages indexed on Google. Moreover, the actual number of blog posts is less than 5,000 (gets a number from the architecture of its website). And that is a one-writer blog without a bad guest post.
Then there are viral blogs that can attract large traffic in a short amount of time. But, I don’t really like it because I don’t like the website. Besides that, you can’t say whether the traffic will be maintained or not because it all depends on the virality of the content (You can’t predict that, right?).
Now, How to Increase Pageviews to reach 1,000,000 pageviews per month?
If there is one particular way to increase traffic then that is by creating more content. You increase the number of blog posts on your blog, you also increase organic traffic.
The growth rate of traffic can be much higher than the rate of content creation for the first few years. However, it will definitely slow down over time. For the same reason, we can easily increase blog traffic from 1,000 visits to 10,000 visits. But it is very difficult to increase traffic from 10,000 to 100,000.
Then how much is per month?
For me, I think it’s safe to assume that if 250 blog posts can increase 100,000 pageviews per month. Then, I might be able to increase traffic further to 500,000 by multiplying the number of blog posts.
Also, I set 500,000 and not million as a monthly target for a reason. Because I think it’s enough to generate $ 3,000 in advertising revenue per month (because your CPM might be higher).
When can I reach my Traffic Goal?
Once again, it depends. The problem with most blogs (including many of them with high authority) is that they publish high-quality blog posts one day and are followed by lots of junk posts.
Now, that makes traffic prediction difficult and can distract your readers too. Because they don’t know what to expect from your blog.
The best example is my own blog. I don’t publish any junk posts (in my opinion) but I tend to write and publish a variety of topics. And I can link all my blog posts. Because they are all related to each other in one way or another.
So, every time, I publish a random topic that I find interesting. If my blog is a niche blog then I can focus on building an audience.
However, if you have a special blog and you follow your industry closely enough, you can improve the quality of your blog and increase subscribers organically. Because your readers know exactly what is expected from your blog and it’s safe to assume that your blog will grow X% every year (depending on your industry and the nature of your content).
For example, here’s the monthly organic traffic history of a niche blog — with a content strategy,
And here’s the monthly organic traffic history of a niche blog — without a content strategy,
Niche blogs can also benefit from “authority”.
That is, if you start a blog on a particular topic and eventually become one of the most popular websites in that niche then it will get weighted in search engines. And after that, all your blog posts in the future will get increased rankings (as long as you maintain the quality of your blog and content).
For example, think about blogs: OSXDaily.com, iMore.com, and MacWorld.com. All three blogs are about Apple and they rarely publish topics that are not related to Apple. Now they have all established themselves as the top destinations for “Apple News”. And is possible that one of them is listed in the Top 10) for Apple-related keywords on Google. That is the superiority of authority.
This also means that their organic search traffic will only go up as long as Apple’s keyword related requests on Google, Bing, etc. increase.
Now back to the question: how much time will it take and how to increase Pageviews to reach your traffic goals?
I will give you a simple perspective.
Let’s say you started a new personal finance blog and I’m assuming the following:
- You do all the homework before starting the blog.
- Do proper keyword research before writing a topic.
- Only choose topics that are evergreen so they will not be obsolete after a few months/years.
- Never compromise with the quality of your content, ever.
- Write about topics that are truly related to your niche and can link your content.
- You managed to write 100 blog posts (~ 2 per week) in the first year.
You start getting 3,000 visits a month at the end of the year
How Can I Increase Pageviews and Increase My Web Visitors?
Now that you get 3,000 visits a month, how do you increase further Pageviews? Yes, just double the number of your blog posts. That is, if you get 3,000 visits a month from 100 blog posts then you will definitely get more than 6,000 visits a month from 200 blog posts.
And that’s just simple math. Actual traffic growth can be much higher than that. Do you know why? Because when the number of blog posts increases, traffic usually grows at a higher rate (provided the blog is active and there is a demand for your content).
Remember, this is all about organic traffic. If you target certain traffic and social media traffic then you can reach your destination faster.
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All Back Again To You.
Once again, the steps above are strictly based on my own insights. It may not be the best way to improve your Pageviews. But I believe it can be applied to almost all blogs out there one way or another.
Also, it is based on the assumption that you already have a blog. If you don’t have a blog, then think about getting started.
If you have a single author blog that is fairly new, then you can wait until you press say one hundred blog posts (unless you have a budget to increase from day one) so you will know where you are going. One hundred blog posts will provide enough insight into potential traffic, and the types of content that perform and not perform.
And if it is a small business blog, then you must immediately create a content strategy and set goals and work to achieve them.
It’s true that money is important, but let me tell you something, blogging is difficult. Making money with a blog is even more difficult. Oh yes, you certainly find lots of “how to start a blog in 10 minutes”. Or, “make money blogging” guides and e-books. But the reality is that it’s not that simple.
In fact, when you start, you won’t even get income or get traffic at all. (consider yourself lucky if you achieve it from the first week).
Of course, there are many content marketing case studies out there where experienced bloggers manage to generate thousands of visits.
And claim they won it in the same month when they launched a new blog. But remember, they are experienced.
If you are beginners or starting your first blog. You will probably experience all the challenges that I face (and still face).
You also might make the Biggest Blogging Beginner’s Mistake. Unless your blog is a multi-author blog with experienced bloggers.
From mistakes, we can learn many new things. The Best Teacher Is Experience.
And another thing is about the future of blogging. Blogging will not die. But if you pay attention to one of the so-called blogger teachers. Then you will see that they are no longer focused on content creation.
90% of content creation and 10% of promotions have been successful in the past (also works today). The problem recently has been found another way to achieve success with only 10% content creation and 90% promotion.
That is why most of them focus on brand building and promotion (content farm).
I say “content farm” because there are many of them who advocate for professional blogging. But what they actually do is run a “content farm”. Namely, recruit a dozen content creators and publish many blog posts every month. Just to keep their blog active and not necessarily because they want to share something.
What you have to realize is the fact that blogging is NOT a kind of get rich quick. It could be a hobby, full-time job, business, or whatever. After all, it is something that requires a lot of effort, patience, and perseverance.
And blogging isn’t all about getting money or traffic. This is about you too.
Happy Blogging 🙂